Uncategorized

MyDestination: The Intern

Nearing the end of second year at University, lectures and careers advisers were nagging us to start looking into securing a summer placement, a vital part of our course, and people seemed to fall into a mad panic. Where do we look, what can we apply for, where should we go?! I know a lot of people who tried to find somewhere close to home, and others who applied for jobs in bigger cities like London, Cardiff or Manchester.
20140120-214058.jpg

I managed to secure myself two fantastic placements last summer. 6 weeks at Food and Travel, and 12 weeks at MyDestination. However, neither of them happened and I was beyond disappointed because I couldn’t afford any accommodation or the commuting fees from Bournemouth to London. I kept in touch with both ladies that offered me placements and found myself a wonderful alternative over in Poole with some of the nicest people I’ve ever met.20140120-214211.jpg
Since my boyfriend now lives in London, I thought I might try and find myself some work up there for after Christmas, and I certainly did! I got back in touch with the main Editor at MyDestination and she offered me a 2 week placement at their head office, which is in Little Venice, just off Warwick Avenue tube station. 
20140120-214402.jpg
It was a quaint little area, with built up houses, a canal running through the area and a handful of rather over priced cafes. I started on Thursday after New Year and to my surprise there was no such thing as the ‘London Rush Hour’ that day. I walked around in circles for a good fifteen minutes trying to find the place but as soon as I did I was welcomed by a friendly lady, who I ended up sitting next to in the office.

Straight away I was writing a travel guide on Costa Rica and a blog post about my recent trip to Germany, I was buzzing with excitement. It couldn’t have been more than a dream-come-true. Living and working in London! Even if it was for a few weeks. Monday morning was a big shock though, as someone had jumped in front of a train just a few stations up the line, it was pouring down with rain and I queued for a tube for over an hour – missing a total of 12 tubes because they were all so jam packed.

Unfortunately I had to leave 4 days early due to personal reasons, but the 9 days I was there was just fantastic. I got to research and write about destinations I’d never even considered going to, but now can’t wait to see! Everyone was lovely, helpful yet so professional. 

I’m now awaiting two blog posts to be posted and hope that some day soon this placement will help me land a job in the same field. Travel writing. There’s no doubt in my mind that it’s what I really want to do.

 P.S. My bank account is now completely empty after the never-ending oyster card top-ups, morning coffees and dinners out. On the plus side, it was totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

