Education, Uncategorized

CELTA WEEK 3

(is over!) and here’s a slightly late update on it…

HECTIC.

MENTAL.

STRESSFUL.

PULLING MY HAIR OUT.

Wow. Guys. Week three was intense! By far the most intense week of studying yet.
With lesson plans coming out of my eyes and tears flowing from my eyeballs as I write assignments and re-submissions galore… (okay, three, but still!)

Unfortunately I failed my first assignment, which was beyond disappointing, but I just couldn’t get my head around the ‘checking understanding’ part. It’s safe to say I’ve improved on that now…

I had a few great lessons (teaching practice) and I’m thoroughly enjoying every moment in the classroom – although there are undoubtedly a few nerves before I begin! I so desperately want to be a great teacher. I want to inspire people to learn English, to understand it, and to fall in love with it the way I have. Whether that’s possible or not… let’s wait and see!

Sunday resulted in me working from 8:30am until 11pm, with an hour for lunch and an hour for a yummy roast dinner.

Stayed tuned for Week 4 thoughts…

5 thoughts on “CELTA WEEK 3”

  1. Week 3 is the hardest, at least you’re through it! Checking understanding feels really weird, and it’s something I always mention to teachers when I observe them. The first time you have a student completely misunderstand something, you see why it’s important!

      1. It does, it’s not a natural way to look at the language, and you have to be a bit creative to guide the students along. It’s the kind of thing you only get good at by learning it as you teach over time.

Leave a Reply

