Education

I’m a teacher! (Day 2)

WELL. After yesterday going so well, I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised that my first lesson wasn’t a total success.

Trying to explain auxiliary verbs at intermediate level just didn’t work for me. I don’t know why, I just COULD NOT EXPLAIN THEM. Argh! It must have been so painful to watch. A total disaster. Most of the students in that group are lovely though, but they don’t talk much, so it’s hard to really get an idea of their personalities. 

Hopefully tomorrow or Thursday they’ll come out of their shell a little, and I’ll have gained a little more confidence too. (Fingers crossed!)

My second lesson is with the elementary students and they are such a great bunch – they make such an effort and never stop talking, I love it! Our topic for the day was jobs & work – which was an interesting one but by no means easy! Still, I feel like I am genuinely able to teach efficiently and make a difference to elementary level students. Is that a cop-out? 

My final lesson was an ‘options’ – which is a 45 minute skills lesson, of which mine was A2 Speaking – I chose Retail Therapy! (Who doesn’t love shopping?!) so that went down a storm and we ended with a gap-full/role play on trying on clothes + buying them. 

I loved my last two lessons and can only hope I come to enjoy the intermediate classes just as much.

I have spent 4 hours planning for tomorrow, so I’m hoping it pays off!

Leave a Reply

