Education, Uncategorized

I’m a teacher (week 3!)

Wow-o-wow! Where on earth has the past two weeks gone?
Today marks the third Monday that I have been a teacher and I’ve loved (almost) every minute of it!

My lessons today were hilarious – my intermediate class had me speaking Chinese and were asking about my plans after working at BEET. I always find it quite lovely when students talk to you like a normal person, rather than as a teacher whom you shouldn’t talk to.

Once again my elementary class decided they wanted to play teacher, sing karaoke and tell me about their relationship issues (not sure about this one?!) and it was just so good to see them laughing and enjoying the lesson. Don’t worry, we did LOADS of work. Grammar work. and be+verb+ing – they were not impressed, but after blood, sweat and tears, we got there together! I can only hope they remember it tomorrow.

My bus didn’t show up, so I sat in the cold for 45 minutes which turned me into a moody, grumpy old bat and the minute I eventually stepped through my front door I had a message to say my interview time needed changing (for tomorrow morning). I ended up having an hours interview this evening. Boy. I want that job. I wanted it the minute I saw the advert. The second I had my pre-interview. And after that interview, I’ve never been so sure of anything in my life. I want that job.  I won’t say anything yet, as I’d rather not jynx my chances of an offer, but I will keep you updated.

It’s past midnight now and I’ve been lesson-planning since 9. My head is so full of interviews and job-related things that I can hardly focus. But I’m determined not to let my lovely students down and therefore I must plan. 

Leave a Reply

