Education

Back to school

(Not just for the majority of the UK, but also for me.)

I’m heading back to BEET language center for another 3 months and I’m ecstatic!

My classes will be different once again as I go on to teach Pre-intermediate first thing, followed by an Upper-intermediate class before lunch. I’m super excited and I’ve been told that the majority of my Upper-ints will be Italians… So I thought I’d brush up a little.

Key phrases to remember

  • Buongiorno! (bwohn-johr-noh) (Hello! and Good morning!)
  • Come si chiama? (koh-meh see kyah-mah) (What is your name?)
  • Come sta? (koh-meh stah) (How are you?) (Formal)

I’m sure they will be absolutely wonderful and have no reason at all for me to speak any Italian, but I’m hoping with a few greetings they’ll at least be pleased! I never did get the hang of Italian.

On another note, teachers, what’s your favourite way to start your first lesson on a Monday morning? Surely not everyone wants to talk about their weekend, right?

Let me know in the comments if you have a favourite ‘opening’ chat or activity.

xo

Leave a Reply

